Lifeline http://tdworld.com/taxonomy/term/7351/more en Brandon Matthees, Xcel Energy http://tdworld.com/lifeline/brandon-matthees-xcel-energy <div class="node-body article-body">Working in the power industry is a family tradition. My father has worked as a lineman for more than 40 years for Dakota Electric.</div> <div class="og_rss_groups"></div><p><a href="http://tdworld.com/lifeline/brandon-matthees-xcel-energy" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://tdworld.com/lifeline/brandon-matthees-xcel-energy#comments Lifeline Mon, 20 Jul 2015 16:21:00 +0000 71341 at http://tdworld.com Kory Nichols, Salt River Project http://tdworld.com/lifeline/kory-nichols-salt-river-project <div class="node-body article-body">I left Wisconsin after completing five years of school without a degree. In 2001, I decided to seek a new path in life and moved to Arizona. </div> <div class="og_rss_groups"></div><p><a href="http://tdworld.com/lifeline/kory-nichols-salt-river-project" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://tdworld.com/lifeline/kory-nichols-salt-river-project#comments Lifeline People Fri, 06 Feb 2015 15:30:00 +0000 62741 at http://tdworld.com Shayne Bender http://tdworld.com/lifeline/shayne-bender <div class="node-body article-body">I grew up on my family cattle ranch located on the Missouri River in central South Dakota. I enjoyed working outside, whether I was fencing, chopping open water holes in the winter for cattle watering, calving out heifers, branding calves or baling hay. </div> <div class="og_rss_groups"></div><p><a href="http://tdworld.com/lifeline/shayne-bender" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://tdworld.com/lifeline/shayne-bender#comments Lifeline Thu, 13 Nov 2014 19:28:00 +0000 58941 at http://tdworld.com Nelson Smith, Mecklenburg Electric Cooperative http://tdworld.com/lifeline/nelson-smith-mecklenburg-electric-cooperative <div class="node-body article-body"><h3> Early Years</h3> <p>When I returned home from my first year of college, I had some friends working in the power industry. I liked the idea of working outside in a service industry.</p> <p>My first job was as a groundman for Four County Electric Cooperative in North Carolina in 1973. I&rsquo;m now a line superintendent for Mecklenburg Electric Cooperative in Gretna, Virginia.</p></div> <div class="og_rss_groups"></div><p><a href="http://tdworld.com/lifeline/nelson-smith-mecklenburg-electric-cooperative" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://tdworld.com/lifeline/nelson-smith-mecklenburg-electric-cooperative#comments Lifeline Wed, 11 Jun 2014 21:07:00 +0000 50081 at http://tdworld.com Jake McGill, Nebraska Public Power District http://tdworld.com/lifeline/jake-mcgill-nebraska-public-power-district <div class="node-body article-body">Today I’m a journey line technician on the transmission line crew in North Platte, Nebraska. </div> <div class="og_rss_groups"></div><p><a href="http://tdworld.com/lifeline/jake-mcgill-nebraska-public-power-district" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://tdworld.com/lifeline/jake-mcgill-nebraska-public-power-district#comments Lifeline Fri, 16 May 2014 19:33:00 +0000 48781 at http://tdworld.com <p>Jake McGill, Nebraska Public Power District</p> Patrick Flores http://tdworld.com/lifeline/patrick-flores <div class="node-body article-body">San Diego Gas & Electric hired me on as a laborer, and I was responsible for digging holes for poles. </div> <div class="og_rss_groups"></div><p><a href="http://tdworld.com/lifeline/patrick-flores" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://tdworld.com/lifeline/patrick-flores#comments Lifeline Wed, 12 Feb 2014 19:41:00 +0000 42281 at http://tdworld.com <p>Patrick Flores is shown on the site of restoration in Warner Springs, California. Lightning caused a fire in San Diego County, and Flores and his crew were assigned to rebuild lines and restore power to a rural community.</p> Ralph Rizzo http://tdworld.com/lifeline/ralph-rizzo <div class="node-body article-body">My interest in the line trade dates back to when I was a young boy...</div> <div class="og_rss_groups"></div><p><a href="http://tdworld.com/lifeline/ralph-rizzo" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://tdworld.com/lifeline/ralph-rizzo#comments Lifeline Tue, 15 Oct 2013 20:15:00 +0000 35181 at http://tdworld.com Jayne Hoxie http://tdworld.com/lifeline/jayne-hoxie <div class="node-body article-body">I hired into the Lansing Board of Water and Light as a laborer.</div> <div class="og_rss_groups"></div><p><a href="http://tdworld.com/lifeline/jayne-hoxie" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://tdworld.com/lifeline/jayne-hoxie#comments Lifeline Thu, 01 Aug 2013 18:44:00 +0000 30151 at http://tdworld.com Tim Jones http://tdworld.com/lifeline/tim-jones <div class="node-body article-body">I learned about the opportunities in the utility industry from a friend who worked as a lineman for a local contractor. </div> <div class="og_rss_groups"></div><p><a href="http://tdworld.com/lifeline/tim-jones" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://tdworld.com/lifeline/tim-jones#comments Lifeline Thu, 11 Jul 2013 19:45:00 +0000 29241 at http://tdworld.com Danny John Hopkins http://tdworld.com/lifeline/danny-john-hopkins <div class="field-deck"> Dodge City Community College Tech Center </div> <div class="node-body article-body">I am now a professor of electrical technology at Dodge City Community College Tech Center. I teach young men electrical fundamentals, electrical safety, how to climb poles with fall arrest safeties, how to work on the pole and how to become apprentice linemen. </div> <div class="og_rss_groups"></div><p><a href="http://tdworld.com/lifeline/danny-john-hopkins" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://tdworld.com/lifeline/danny-john-hopkins#comments Lifeline Thu, 13 Jun 2013 18:27:00 +0000 27631 at http://tdworld.com