Grill the Grid Masters http://tdworld.com/taxonomy/term/7361/more en What is the Most Frequent Cause of Outages? http://tdworld.com/distribution/what-most-frequent-cause-outages <div class="node-body article-body">The most important metric in the power industry is the percentage of time we keep the lights on. </div> <p><a href="http://tdworld.com/distribution/what-most-frequent-cause-outages" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://tdworld.com/distribution/what-most-frequent-cause-outages#comments Distribution Grill the Grid Masters Grid-Optimization Thu, 17 Nov 2016 01:25:00 +0000 98151 at http://tdworld.com Do Renewables Play Fair? http://tdworld.com/generation-renewables/do-renewables-play-fair <div class="node-body article-body">Many industry consultants and suppliers tell us there will be more distributed energy resources in the future and some claim that renewables will be the predominant source of new generation</div> <p><a href="http://tdworld.com/generation-renewables/do-renewables-play-fair" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://tdworld.com/generation-renewables/do-renewables-play-fair#comments Generation Renewables Grill the Grid Masters Grid-Optimization Fri, 21 Oct 2016 00:25:00 +0000 96791 at http://tdworld.com What Does 'Resiliency' Actually Mean? http://tdworld.com/grill-grid-masters/what-does-resiliency-actually-mean <div class="node-body article-body">Buzz words abound in the power industry. Major storm events over the last several years lead to one of the most frequently quoted goals</div> <p><a href="http://tdworld.com/grill-grid-masters/what-does-resiliency-actually-mean" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://tdworld.com/grill-grid-masters/what-does-resiliency-actually-mean#comments Grill the Grid Masters Fri, 19 Aug 2016 00:25:00 +0000 94821 at http://tdworld.com Christian Bridgwater/iStock/Thinkstock Can't a Utility Immediately Detect A Downed Line? http://tdworld.com/grill-grid-masters/cant-utility-immediately-detect-downed-line <div class="node-body article-body">With all the latest technologies being installed, why can’t a utility immediately detect a downed line?</div> <p><a href="http://tdworld.com/grill-grid-masters/cant-utility-immediately-detect-downed-line" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://tdworld.com/grill-grid-masters/cant-utility-immediately-detect-downed-line#comments Grill the Grid Masters Fri, 19 Aug 2016 00:25:00 +0000 93591 at http://tdworld.com solarisimages/iStock/Thinkstock Can't We Avoid Powerline-Caused Fires? http://tdworld.com/grill-grid-masters/cant-we-avoid-powerline-caused-fires <div class="node-body article-body">The recent fires in the Western states bring up the issue or power line-caused forest fires. Isn’t this more of a vegetation management issue </div> <p><a href="http://tdworld.com/grill-grid-masters/cant-we-avoid-powerline-caused-fires" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://tdworld.com/grill-grid-masters/cant-we-avoid-powerline-caused-fires#comments Grill the Grid Masters Fri, 22 Jul 2016 00:25:00 +0000 92231 at http://tdworld.com Wouldn't 6-Phase AC be an Optimal Choice in Some Cases? http://tdworld.com/grill-grid-masters/wouldnt-6-phase-ac-be-optimal-choice-some-cases <div class="node-body article-body">As power needs go up, and transmission corridor availability goes down...</div> <p><a href="http://tdworld.com/grill-grid-masters/wouldnt-6-phase-ac-be-optimal-choice-some-cases" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://tdworld.com/grill-grid-masters/wouldnt-6-phase-ac-be-optimal-choice-some-cases#comments Grill the Grid Masters Mon, 20 Jun 2016 00:25:00 +0000 90341 at http://tdworld.com Low-Voltage DC Bus with High-Efficiency Adapter for Homes? http://tdworld.com/grill-grid-masters/low-voltage-dc-bus-high-efficiency-adapter-homes <div class="node-body article-body"> Doesn't it make sense to provide a low voltage dc bus for low-voltage devices such as electronics?</div> <p><a href="http://tdworld.com/grill-grid-masters/low-voltage-dc-bus-high-efficiency-adapter-homes" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://tdworld.com/grill-grid-masters/low-voltage-dc-bus-high-efficiency-adapter-homes#comments Grill the Grid Masters Fri, 20 May 2016 00:25:00 +0000 88831 at http://tdworld.com RakicN/iStock/Thinkstock Why Do Transformers Explode and Burn Sometimes? http://tdworld.com/grill-grid-masters/why-do-transformers-explode-and-burn-sometimes <div class="node-body article-body">Why do transformers explode and burn sometimes?</div> <p><a href="http://tdworld.com/grill-grid-masters/why-do-transformers-explode-and-burn-sometimes" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://tdworld.com/grill-grid-masters/why-do-transformers-explode-and-burn-sometimes#comments Grill the Grid Masters Fri, 22 Apr 2016 00:25:00 +0000 86681 at http://tdworld.com If Coal is Dead, Will Our Existing Transmission Grid Follow? http://tdworld.com/grill-grid-masters/if-coal-dead-will-our-existing-transmission-grid-follow <div class="node-body article-body">Will the grid go the way of coal?</div> <p><a href="http://tdworld.com/grill-grid-masters/if-coal-dead-will-our-existing-transmission-grid-follow" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://tdworld.com/grill-grid-masters/if-coal-dead-will-our-existing-transmission-grid-follow#comments Grill the Grid Masters Fri, 19 Feb 2016 01:25:00 +0000 82511 at http://tdworld.com tainkm/iStock/Thinkstock Sending the Right Signal http://tdworld.com/grill-grid-masters/sending-right-signal <div class="node-body article-body"> In this day of smart meters and digital everything, is it practical to provide spot pricing on an individual basis for significant renewable generation deliveries to avoid market dysfunction? </div> <p><a href="http://tdworld.com/grill-grid-masters/sending-right-signal" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://tdworld.com/grill-grid-masters/sending-right-signal#comments Grill the Grid Masters Fri, 19 Feb 2016 01:25:00 +0000 83851 at http://tdworld.com